top of page

Short Story Longlist

We are delighted to announce the longlist for our short story competition.

Congratulations to everyone!

We also have some great news;  due to an extraordinarily high number of entries, coupled with their outstanding quality overall, we have decided to award two extra prizes.

The judges will now award:


Winner - £250

Runner Up - £50

Highly Commended - £50

Highly Commended - £50

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Longlisted short story writers

Judge VG Lee says ‘When I began the task of reading almost three hundred submissions for this competition, I rather cynically imagined that the great and the good stories would shine like jewels on a pebbled beach.  To my pleasure and astonishment I found that the beach was in fact made up of jewels while pebbles were few and far between!

Over the ensuing days of reading, I continued to be impressed at the almost universal high quality. I smiled; nodded and even shed a tear on a couple of occasions, the writing was so good.

I’d been asked to compile a longlist. Whittling the numbers down proved difficult but my final choices were made when I was aware of a unique writing voice combined with the ability to bring both characters and story to life.  In the end my longlist exceeded the required total and my many commendations have become a ‘just missed the longlist’ list!

This may sound sentimental but reading so many entries of such a high standard made me feel a great warmth towards all their writers. I only know each by their story title, but I honour them. To all who submitted, well done!’

Longlisted short story writers:


  • Arleen McCombie

  • Colin Brezicki

  • Dianne Bown-Wilson

  • Eamonn McKeon

  • Elizabeth Andreoli

  • Emma Mather

  • Helena Frith Powell

  • Jade Albas

  • Jon Gowlland

  • Kate Coghlan

  • Maria Burke

  • Maureen Cullen

  • Nicky Torode

  • Rob Campbell

  • Stephen Zoltan

Just Missed the Longlist

  • Andrew Jones – The Bridge

  • Anna Reynolds – Thief in the Night

  • Charles Salisbury – Their Forgotten Scent

  • Chris Cottom – The Book of Best Days

  • Dean Gessie – Officers of Adaptation to Climate Change

  • Gavin O'Donnell – Father’s Day

  • Iqbal Hussain – When the Devil has your Tongue

  • Jack Kelly – This Ain’t For You

  • Léa Rancurel – We killed ourselves slowly

  • Maria Burke – All the lonely people, where do they all come from?

  • Michael Pettit – Between Pages

  • Michael Pettit – Sax

  • Richard Hooton – Everything in its Right Place

  • Rory Duffy – Don’t Stop Believin

Thank you to everyone who entered.


The Short List will be announced on 4th September! Good luck to all our longlisted writers and poets!

Hastings Book Festival team

bottom of page