top of page

Poetry Longlist

We are delighted to announce the longlist for our poetry competition.

Congratulations to everyone!

We also have some great news;  due to an extraordinarily high number of entries, coupled with their outstanding quality overall, we have decided to award two extra prizes.

The judges will now award:


Winner - £250

Runner Up - £50

Highly Commended - £50

Highly Commended - £50

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Longlisted poets

Poetry judge John McCullough says: 'I had a tough time selecting the longlist of fifteen, changing my mind often. The standard was high and there were a great many other poems that would have been equally deserving. Congratulations to all the longlisted poets.'

Longlisted poets:

  • Andy Breckenridge

  • Christopher M James

  • Helen Nancy Meneilly

  • Hilary Otto

  • Isabella Mead

  • Julie Runacres

  • Laura Theis

  • Marion Hobday

  • Moira Garland

  • Paul Stephenson

  • Pauline May (longlisted for two entries)

  • Simon Maddrell

  • Tamsin Hopkins (longlisted for two entries)


Thank you to everyone who entered.


The Short List will be announced on 4th September! Good luck to all our longlisted writers and poets!

Hastings Book Festival team

bottom of page